Mountain Island Community

Among the first settlers to Mountain Island were Irish immigrants who came to mine gold in the 1800’s and helped to found Saint Joseph’s Catholic Church.  Then, in the late 1840’s, Henry Humphreys and Thomas R. Tate built the Mountain Island Mill, and a mill village followed. The mill was destroyed by the 1916 flood, with Duke Power’s Riverbend Steam Plant following in its place in 1923. Mountain Island’s community was largely shaped by these events. Explore more about the community and its features below.

Picture slideshow of the Mountain Island Community

-‘Local Boy’ Ed Cox’s map & personal recollections of Mtn. Island sites of interest.

-Doris Connell’s description of Riverbend Village.

For information on Mountain Island Mill, click here

For information on Saint Joseph’s Catholic Church, click here